Item added to your cart.

Illusion of Depth
Mat Zo
Catalogue Number
Release Date
October 9, 2020


Select bundle
  • CD Bundle: Illusion of Depth + Damage Control:

    • Damage Control CD

    • Illusion of Depth CD Eco-friendly case with inner wallet & booklet.

    • + WAV / FLAC

    Available: October 9, 2020

  • Vinyl 2×LP

    Sold out

    Pressed onto heavyweight black vinyl

    Read More
    • + WAV / FLAC
  • CD


    Eco-friendly case with inner wallet & booklet.

    Read More
    • + WAV / FLAC
    • This CD is eligible for our '3 for £15' & '6 for £25' multi-buy deals! Click here to see the full range of titles in this discount deal.

One of dance music's most enigmatic figures returns home to Anjunabeats.

GRAMMY-nominated producer Mat Zo is back with a brand new artist album set for release in October: 'Illusion Of Depth'.

At the age of 30, this is the London-born, L.A.-based producer's third artist LP.

He broke onto the scene in 2008 and has been causing an uproar ever since. In the early naughties, he penned Anjunabeats classics like 'The Lost' and 'Synapse Dynamics' which were far ahead of their time. They were followed by the likes of 'Superman', 'The Sky' and 'Rebound' (with Arty). He pushed the Anjunabeats sound to the mainstage, racking up spins from Pete Tong, Axwell and Armin van Buuren.

It was his GRAMMY-nominated debut album 'Damage Control' that fully showcased Mat's avant-garde approach in 2013. Featuring break-out hit 'Easy' with close friend Porter Robinson, the track took Mat mainstream: a Radio 1 A-List addition, Sirius XM BPM listing, a #1 Billboard Heatseeking record, an Essential Mix of the year nomination and, ultimately, a GRAMMY nod for best dance and electronic recording.

Since then, Mat has grown his own stable. Self-releasing his second LP in 2016, 'Self Assemble', via Mad Zoo, Mat's imprint nurtured a new generation of eclectic, genre-agnostic creators.

He's stayed close with Anjunabeats through that time, joining Above & Beyond for shows at Madison Square Garden and Huntington Beach and Anjunabeats label shows around North America.

We come full circle with 'Illusion of Depth', a modern homage to the sounds that made him a star.

“I started working on Illusion of Depth because I wanted to make a body of work that was cohesive. I'm usually known for being all over the place, but I wanted to make an album that had unifying qualities. In this case, partly it's the tempo. Everything on the album is in the 124-128 bpm range, but within that constraint I still managed to be all over the place stylistically. There's also a lot more live/non-digital elements on this album than my previous work. I was getting really tired of how clean everything is in this corner of dance music. Above all else I wanted to make an album with grit, texture and attitude. I wanted to make a fuck you statement to the safe, sugary & fluffy world of post-EDM trance.”

“A big part of the conception of the album came from working with Olan. She's a highly skilled singer, songwriter and producer and we've known each other for years. We had been in the studio working on a bunch of material before this, and that helped us grow a common musical identity. When it came to writing this album we were already comfortable with each other. This allowed the songs on the album to be honest, opposed to a bunch of toplines plastered on top of already formed tracks. Every song we wrote together is personal, sincere, and holds a lot of meaning for both of us.” - Mat Zo

Prepare for another helter-skelter trip through a pick-n'-mix of styles. 'Illusion Of Depth' begins with the brash 'In Media Res'. Next, it's Zo's ode to 90's warehouse techno: 'The Next Chapter' featuring legendary jungle/D&B MC GQ. Then, all of a sudden, 'Love Songs' and some French, filter house.

The album introduces Atlanta-based Olan, a singer and producer that Mat has worked with for a number of years. There's a nod to classic rave culture and the Chemical Brothers with her vocals on 'Problems' while closing track 'Paralysis' is a cinematic rock crescendo.

'Illusion of Depth' is out now via Above & Beyond's Anjunabeats imprint.

Digital Tracklist

  1. 1 In Media Res Mat Zo 4:11 Buy

    In Media Res

  2. 2 Love Songs Mat Zo 5:02 Buy

    Love Songs

  3. 3 The Next Chapter Mat Zo feat. GQ 5:15 Buy

    The Next Chapter

  4. 4 Problems Mat Zo 5:48 Buy


  5. 5 Bruxism Mat Zo 3:01 Buy


  6. 6 Fly While You're Still Free Mat Zo 5:16 Buy

    Fly While You're Still Free

  7. 7 Petrushka Mat Zo 5:52 Buy


  8. 8 Dangerous Feeling Mat Zo 4:44 Buy

    Dangerous Feeling

  9. 9 Colours Mat Zo 5:46 Buy


  10. 10 Paralysis Mat Zo 4:00 Buy


  11. 11 Begin Again Mat Zo 7:32 Buy

    Begin Again

  12. 12 The Next Chapter (Extended Mix) Mat Zo feat. GQ 6:45 Buy

    The Next Chapter (Extended Mix)

  13. 13 Colours (Extended Mix) Mat Zo feat. OLAN 6:40 Buy

    Colours (Extended Mix)

Mat Zo

View More
--:-- --:--

Privacy Settings

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. Cookies Policy

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences