Item added to your cart.

Michael Cassette
Catalogue Number
Release Date
November 29, 2010

Michael Cassette is the infamous 80s-inspired electronic producer who chooses anonymity over publicity. He seeks refuge in his studio, basking in the bright, neon sparkle of retro synths and soaking up the warm embrace of classic analogue grooves.

Since emerging with "Shadow's Movement" in 2007, he has become a revered force amongst electronic music lovers. DJs like Eric Prydz, James Zabiela, Laurent Garnier and SOS have all lauded his unique ability to transform past musical memories into moments of contemporary club magic. Disco blogs and dance music bibles (Mixmag, DJ magazine and iDJ) have given him glowing reviews, while Anjunadeep continue to celebrate him as their most unique and promising studio talent.

Both reassuringly familiar and assuredly fresh, Michael Cassette's "Temporarity" is the perfect blend of uplifting 80s sounds and ultra-clean production sensibilities. A complete and cohesive journey, it begins on the progressive cosmic boogie of "My Name Is Michael Cassette" before sweeping into the familiar synth-disco bliss of "Shadows Movement". A cover of Miami Vice's iconic soundtrack "Crockett's Theme" is like a smooth, sugary shot of Floridian sunshine to the ear, while vocal moments like "Through The Windows" and "Nevermore" touch on the classic 80s tradition of classy synth-pop.

There are progressive club sounds found in the bittersweet glow of "Magneta Sunset", the uplifting "Zeppelin" and the hypnotic flutters of "Kilimanjaro", while forthcoming single "Ghost In The Machine" released in November alongside a Spirit Catcher remix is another Michael Cassette classic in the making. Showing off the producer's versatility, the album closes with the sombre Tangerine Dream-esque electronica of the emotive "Funeralia".

Digital Track List

  1. 1 My Name Is Michael Cassette (Original Mix) 5:27 Buy
  2. 2 Shadows Movement (Original Mix) 8:01 Buy
  3. 3 Crockett's Theme (Original Mix) 7:06 Buy
  4. 4 Through The Windows (Original Mix) 4:48 Buy
  5. 5 Magenta Sunset (Original Mix) 5:09 Buy
  6. 6 Ghost In The Machine (Original Mix) 7:54 Buy
  7. 7 Pangaea (Original Mix) 6:58 Buy
  8. 8 Nevermore (Original Mix) 4:48 Buy
  9. 9 Kilimanjaro (Original Mix) 4:31 Buy
  10. 10 Carpe Diem (Original MIx) 5:04 Buy
  11. 11 Zeppelin (Original Mix) 8:34 Buy
  12. 12 Funeralia - Farewell To David (Original Mix) 9:48 Buy
  13. 13 Memories (90's Piano Mix) 8:00 Buy

Michael Cassette

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences